Spinifex presents the new project SPINIFEX SINGS, featuring Priya Purushothaman (from the US, based in Mumbai) and Icelandic singer Björk Nielsdottir.
25 March 2022 Bimhuis, Amsterdam (première)
26 March 2022 Lokerse Jazzclub
, Lokeren (BE)
27 March 2022 O.666, Oostende (BE)
5 June 2022 Moers Festival (DE)

21 July 2022 Paredes de Coura (PT)
22 July 2022 SMUP, Parede (PT)
23 July 2022 Que Jazz É Este? Festival, Viseu (PT)
30 November 2022 De Onderbuik, Utrecht
1 December 2022 Space Impro, De Ruimte, Amsterdam
2 December 2022 Paviljoen Ongehoorde Muziek, Eindhoven
3 December 2022, Plusetage, Baarle Nassau
4 December, De Loods, Stramproy

Rooted in the idiosyncratic Spinifex approach combining poly-rhythmic punk-rock, intricate composed structures and free jazz, Spinifex Sings will venture into the territories of song, lyrics, poetry and the primal scream, integrating both ancient and contemporary Tamil and Icelandic poetry.
Priya Purushothaman and Björk Nielsdottir are both among the most prodigious voices of their generation; Priya in the Hindustani Classical Music genre, and Björk in contemporary classical music and music theatre as well as in improvised music.

SPINIFEX SINGS: Priya Purushothaman, Björk Nielsdottir – vocals; Tobias Klein – alto saxophone;
Bart Maris – trumpet; John Dikeman – tenor saxophone; Jasper Stadhouders – guitar;
Gonçalo Almeida – bass guitar; Philipp Moser – drums

Spinifex Sings is kindly funded by Fonds Podiumkunsten, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds and BNG Cultuurfonds.